Make Pasta with a Professional Artisan Pasta Maker by The Pasta Artist - food in London
Make Pasta with a Professional Artisan Pasta Maker by The Pasta Artist - food in London

Make Pasta with a Professional Artisan Pasta Maker

Learn the dying art of making pasta entirely by hand and discover disappearing and delicious pasta shapes

Pasta Making Class

3 hour class

Beginner

Brentford TW8

Make Pasta with a Professional Artisan Pasta Maker
by The Pasta Artist
3 hour class
£60 per person
Flexitime
£60 per person

Classes

3 hour class

Evening

Learn the dying art of making pasta entirely by hand and enjoy a truly unique experience in a relaxed, homely atmosphere, where you'll learn all there is to know about pasta and will create some of the most unusual and beautiful pasta shapes, traditional in Italy but virtually unknown in the UK.

Each month there is a new pasta to learn, new flours and flavours to explore (scroll down for 2019 pasta list).

The class will begin with a brief introduction to the history of pasta and why there are 2 ways of making pasta (egg and egg-free). You will then learn to mix different flours (according to the pasta of the month) and other ingredients, the best ways of kneading, and all the secrets to obtaining the perfect dough. As the dough is proofing, you'll learn what to look for when buying pasta in supermarkets.

There will be cooking demonstration of the sauce that will be served with the pasta followed by learning to techniques to handle, pull, and fold the dough to obtain the pasta shape (this class is to make the pasta completely by hand so there will be no machine used!). Finally you'll be taught the best cooking technique for the perfect pasta al dente.

Finish the class by enjoying the delicious fruits of your labour together with the other guests, Italian style.

2019 pasta list (first quarter) January: Culurgiones, a typical pasta from sardinia, filled with potatoes, saffron, cheese, and mint, served with tomato sauce February: Caramelised onion flavoured cappellacci de' briganti, served with ricotta and tomato sauce March: Caramelle pasta, filled with spinach and ricotta, and served with melted butter and sage April: Lemon flavoured strozzapreti, served with creme fraiche and prawns sauce

Read more +

Select a class time

Wed 26 Jun 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 29 Jun 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Tue 2 Jul 2019, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Wed 3 Jul 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 6 Jul 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Tue 9 Jul 2019, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Wed 10 Jul 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 13 Jul 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Tue 16 Jul 2019, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Wed 17 Jul 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 20 Jul 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Tue 23 Jul 2019, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Wed 24 Jul 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 27 Jul 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Tue 30 Jul 2019, 10:00am - 1:00pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Wed 31 Jul 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Wed 4 Sep 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 7 Sep 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Wed 11 Sep 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 14 Sep 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Wed 18 Sep 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 21 Sep 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Wed 25 Sep 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 28 Sep 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Wed 2 Oct 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 5 Oct 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Wed 9 Oct 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 12 Oct 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Wed 16 Oct 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 19 Oct 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Wed 23 Oct 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 26 Oct 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Wed 30 Oct 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 2 Nov 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Wed 6 Nov 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 9 Nov 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Wed 13 Nov 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 16 Nov 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Wed 20 Nov 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 23 Nov 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Wed 27 Nov 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 30 Nov 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Wed 4 Dec 2019, 6:30pm - 9:30pm
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
Sat 7 Dec 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left
Sat 14 Dec 2019, 3:30pm - 6:30pm
4 slots left
Brentford, TW8 0QQ
4 slots left

None of the dates work for you? Let the host know and you will be notified when new dates are added.

You will only receive an email from us if new dates are added for this class, you will not receive any marketing emails, and that's a promise!

Give this class to a friend or loved one

London's favourite classes, courses, and workshops are at your fingertips.

Did you know?

If you have ever enjoyed spaghetti with tomatoes sauce, you'll be surprised that it's a relatively recent addition to the Italian cuisine. Tomatoes are originally from America and only arrived in Europe in 1540. Early tomatoes were very high in solanine, a poisonous substance, and had a bright yellow colour, hence the Italian name for it, pomodoro, meaning golden apple. Tomato plants were used to be gifted to young women as a gallant love token by the French gentlemen.
Obby guarantees good classes

Obby Guarantee

We ensure quality. If your class doesn't reach your expectations, we'll give your money back.

Obby guarantees good classes

Flexitime Class

This is a Flexitime class, which means the teacher can run this class around your schedule.

Number of people in an Obby Flexitime classYou need to be a group of 2
Days notice required in an Obby Flexitime classI need 1 day notice
Days available in an Obby Flexitime classI am only available on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday
Location of an Obby Flexitime classBrentford, TW8 0QQ
June 2019
Su
Mo
Tu
We
Th
Fr
Sa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30

Time & Location

Select a date and location you want and your teacher will get back to you to confirm their availability.

Select Date
£60 x 2£120

Give this class to a friend or loved one

London's favourite classes, courses, and workshops are at your fingertips.

Class location

Brentford
39 Windmill Road
TW8 0QQ
London

Gallery (7)

Make Pasta with a Professional Artisan Pasta Maker by The Pasta Artist - food in London

About your host, The Pasta Artist

Silvana is a 4th generation artisan pasta maker from Naples. Her passion is to teach the dying art of making pasta entirely by hand, saving rare pasta shapes from disappearing and helping pasta lovers to recreate the authentic Italian experience, teaching techniques passed down to her by her family.

Her grandma, Nonna Rosa, has taught her everything she knows, started training her when she was just a teeny weeny 5-year-old. Nonna Rosa's been her only teacher for 17 years, allowing her to earn first hands experience in the small family pasta factory. In July 2017 Silvana featured on BBC2's "Inside the Factory" as a pasta expert.

Read more +

Notes

All equipment (minus an apron) and ingredients provided At the end of the workshop, you will cook and enjoy the pasta you made, with a homemade sauce, Italian Coffee (espresso) and tea and a selection of homemade Italian biscuits and/or cakes!

Age Requirement

9

All students under the age of 16 must be accompanied by a parent/guardian.

Flexible cancellation policy

Any class can be cancelled and fully refunded within 24 hours of purchase. See cancellation policy.

Make Pasta with a Professional Artisan Pasta Maker
by The Pasta Artist
3 hour class
£60 per person
Flexitime
£60 per person
3 hour class
from £60 per person