China and Porcelain Painting Course

    Learn how to paint on porcelain - This course covers a range of decorative styles and brushstroke techniques and is taught by Marisa D'Aprano.

    Painting course

    Ten session course

    Beginners welcome

    Marisa D'Aprano, KT36BD


    What you'll learn

    Passionate about painting or porcelain? Combine your two interests and learn about the beautiful art form of porcelain painting from a professional porcelain artist. The course covers a range of decorative styles and brushstroke techniques and is taught by Marisa D'Aprano, one of the most well known British porcelain artists.

    In this class

    During the course you will paint on china and porcelain in the traditional decorative style, learning the brushstroke techniques for traditional European and English flowers. Subsequent terms will feature the soft naturalistic technique, which is the foundation for a variety of styles including naturalistic portraits and flowers.

    Building on these skills, students can learn various techniques including penwork, raised enamel and gilding, before moving on to modern techniques if desired.

    Now you can

    • Paint porcelain and china in various different styles
    • Handle delicate porcelain and china-ware
    • Further engage with your passion or interest for this beautiful art form

    Keep

    Take home beautifully crafted porcelain pieces with you.


    Notes

    In your first lesson you only need to bring kitchen roll (or tissues). You will be able to purchase everything you need for the first term during your first lesson and the standard 'starter kit' is around £50.00. You may like to bring a box (small art supplies box or tool box) to put your kit into. Complete beginners or those who have painted before are all welcome. The classes are mixed ability, there is no need to have any previous artistic ability and students are encouraged to work at their own pace. The classes are friendly and are extremely enjoyable.


    Did you know?

    As early as the Shang dynasty (16th - 11th century B.C.) a white stoneware was made in China for the first time. Glazed "porcelain" is also found for the first time during this period.


    Join a class

    Mon 15 Jan, 10:00am - 12:30pm (all sessions)

    Mon 22 Jan, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Mon 29 Jan, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Mon 5 Feb, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Mon 19 Feb, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Mon 26 Feb, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Mon 5 Mar, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Mon 12 Mar, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Mon 19 Mar, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Mon 26 Mar, 10:00am - 12:30pm

    Tue 16 Jan, 10:00am - 12:30pm (all sessions)

    Tue 23 Jan, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Tue 30 Jan, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Tue 6 Feb, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Tue 20 Feb, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Tue 27 Feb, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Tue 6 Mar, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Tue 13 Mar, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Tue 20 Mar, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Tue 27 Mar, 12:00pm - 12:00pm

    Wed 17 Jan, 10:00am - 12:30pm (all sessions)

    Wed 24 Jan, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Wed 31 Jan, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Wed 7 Feb, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Wed 21 Feb, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Wed 28 Feb, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Wed 7 Mar, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Wed 14 Mar, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Wed 21 Mar, 10:00am - 12:30pm
    Wed 28 Mar, 10:00am - 12:30pm

    Introducing a new way to learn: anytime classes

    Hey there, 👋

    Instead of having regular timetabled classes, I run this class around your schedule.

    • I don't have a minimum number of guests
    • I need 5 days notice
    • I am only available on Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursdays
    • I have a venue space in Marisa D'Aprano, KT36BD

    If that works for you, click below to choose a date 😃


    Class location

    Marisa D'Aprano, New Malden

    Ancaster Crescent

    KT36BD

    Surrey


    About your host, Marisa D'Aprano Porcelain Art Studio

    Marisa D’Aprano invites you into her Porcelain Art Studio to learn about the traditions and skills that go into hand painting porcelain.

    Marisa has over twenty years of professional experience in the art of painting on porcelain and china. Traditionally trained and highly qualified she has dedicated herself to hand painting bespoke dinner services, giftware and bathroom suits in a variety of styles, ranging from traditional to contemporary designs.

    Besides her reputation in bespoke and unique commissions, Marisa has also built a strong reputation as a renowned teacher and has taught a variety of styles and techniques to china painters throughout the UK, the rest of Europe and more exotic places such as Brazil.

    The Porcelain Art Studio offers classes for the passionate hobbyist china painter, the interested newcomer as well as the experienced painter wanting to get some expert advice. If you have always wanted to try your hand at china painting, then come and learn from the best with Marisa D’Aprano!

    Contact host


    Age limit or other requirements

    These classes are for adults and are held during term time with a half term break.


    Flexible cancellation policy

    Any class can be cancelled and fully refunded within 24 hours of purchase. See cancellation policy.