Home
All classes
Crafts
Embroidery
5(6 reviews)

Make a Hand Embroidered Map of London

5(6 reviews)
Location
Holborn
Price
£69pp
Time
2 hour workshop
Level
Beginner
In this hands-on workshop with Ekta Kaul, you will be guided through the fundamental techniques of hand embroidery to create a keepsake map of London
Next available class:
21st Apr 2020, 5 spots left
Make a Hand Embroidered Map of London
by Ekta Kaul
5
Make a Hand Embroidered Map of London by Ekta Kaul - crafts in London
2 hour workshop
£69 per person

What you will do

2 hour workshop

Daytime

Learn hand embroidery in a relaxed, creative environment at Ekta's studio, and make a keepsake London map. You will start by learning basic embroidery stitches, and practice these on the provided fabric before moving on to embroidering your London map which is based on Ekta's original drawing. You can embroider this with your favourite spots or routes, and create something truly personal. The class is suitable for all levels, and beginners are welcome. You will get lots of one-on-one help, top tips, and a list of London fabric shops and haberdasheries to take away and explore.

Read more +

Select a class time

Tue 21 Apr 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 22 Apr 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 23 Apr 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 24 Apr 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 27 Apr 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 28 Apr 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 29 Apr 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 30 Apr 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 1 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 4 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 5 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 7 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 8 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 11 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 12 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 13 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 14 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 15 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 18 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 19 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 20 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 21 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 22 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 25 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 26 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 27 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 28 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 29 May 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 1 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 2 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 8 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 9 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 10 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 11 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 12 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 15 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 16 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 17 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 18 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 19 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 22 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 23 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 24 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 25 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 26 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 29 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 30 Jun 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 1 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 2 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 3 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 6 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 7 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 8 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 9 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 10 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 13 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 14 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 15 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 16 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 17 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 20 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 21 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 22 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 23 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 24 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 27 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 28 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 29 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 30 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 31 Jul 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 10 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 11 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 12 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 13 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 14 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 17 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 18 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 19 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 20 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 21 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 24 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 25 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 26 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 27 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 28 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 31 Aug 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Tue 1 Sep 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Wed 2 Sep 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Thu 3 Sep 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Fri 4 Sep 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp
Mon 7 Sep 2020, 12:00pm - 2:00pm
5 slots left
Holborn, WC1N 2NP
5 slots left
£69pp

None of the dates work for you? Let the host know and you will be notified when new dates are added.

You will only receive an email from us if new dates are added for this class, you will not receive any marketing emails, and that's a promise!

Give this class to a friend or loved one

London's favourite classes, courses, and workshops are at your fingertips.

Obby guarantees good classes

Obby Guarantee

We ensure quality. If your class doesn't reach your expectations, we'll give your money back.

Obby guarantees good classes

Give this class to a friend or loved one

London's favourite classes, courses, and workshops are at your fingertips.

Reviews (6)
Read All
review
Sarah
21 Aug
A fantastic workshop where you can choose your own section of London to embroider. It felt like less of a class and more of a friendly coffee morning - with stitching. I will definitely be back to another course with Etka.
review
Reena
22 May
Lovely class in a relaxed, well-lit environment in Central London. Friendly, approachable teaching and the time flew by! Looking forward to completing my project.

Reviews

review
Sarah
21 Aug
A fantastic workshop where you can choose your own section of London to embroider. It felt like less of a class and more of a friendly coffee morning - with stitching. I will definitely be back to another course with Etka.
review
Reena
22 May
Lovely class in a relaxed, well-lit environment in Central London. Friendly, approachable teaching and the time flew by! Looking forward to completing my project.
review
Caroline
28 May
This class was a lovely, relaxing way to spend an afternoon learning a new skill. It was a small class of only two students so it felt like we had a lot of attention. Ekta was a great teacher, she was very knowledgeable about her subject and gave clear demonstrations of each of the stitches we learnt. I just wish the class had been longer so we could have spent more time on our maps! The venue was easy to get to in a good central London location.
review
Sarah Herring
9 Jul
I really enjoyed the "Make a Hand Embroidered Map of London" class with Ekta. She provided us with the map pattern and patiently taught us the basic embroidery stitches, as well as showing us some of her stunning pieces and discussing her process and inspiration for making them (and yummy cake and tea!). I really recommend this class if you're looking to start embroidery, or looking to make a unique and hand-made memento of London!
review
Sally
12 Aug
A lovely teacher, lovely environment. Would have loved to get a bit more done!! But at least now I have something to keep working on in front of the TV.
review
Gloria
1 Feb
Lovely class! I learnt a lot with Etka. Lots of different stitches that I have already applied! 100% recommended x

Class location

Holborn
Northington Street
WC1N 2NP
London

Gallery (9)

Make a Hand Embroidered Map of London by Ekta Kaul - crafts in London

About your host, Ekta Kaul

Ekta Kaul is a London based textile design studio established by award winning designer Ekta Kaul in 2008. We create luxurious textiles that celebrate a contemporary, pared down aesthetic and focus on simplicity, craftsmanship & timeless style. Our textiles are imbued with character, they speak of exceptional hand craftsmanship, careful attention to detail and a sensitive use of materials & colours.

Soft cashmeres, sumptuous silks & fine wools are embroidered, hand-dyed and printed in simple graphic compositions using time-honoured methods. We create bespoke quilts based on city maps & small editions of accessories in bold colours.

Following her training in Fashion at India’s premier design school, the National Institute of Design (NID, Ahmedabad), Ekta won the Charles Wallace and British Council scholarships to pursue MA Textiles in the UK & developed a unique creative voice assimilating influences from both countries. Since setting up her studio practice in 2008, she has gained the following of a discerning audience – those who value considered design, integrity of materials & provenance. Her work is stocked at select stores & galleries in the UK including Contemporary Applied Arts, Designers Guild, Ruthin Craft Centre among others. She has received awards from the Crafts Council and the Arts Council, England & was nominated for the Arts Foundation Fellowship in 2010. She works from her studio at Cockpit Arts in Bloomsbury, Central London.

Read more +

Notes

You dont need to bring anything. You will receive a kit with all materials included.

Age Requirement

18

Flexible cancellation policy

Any class can be cancelled and fully refunded within 24 hours of purchase. See cancellation policy.

Make a Hand Embroidered Map of London
by Ekta Kaul
5(6 reviews)
Make a Hand Embroidered Map of London by Ekta Kaul - crafts in London
2 hour workshop
£69 per person
2 hour workshop
from £69 pp

Message

To: Ekta Kaul

Make a Hand Embroidered Map of London

You’ll see the reply to this message in your Inbox.