Writers' Room - 5 workshops with flexible attendance, gain new skills and ideas  by Chalk the Sun - art in London
Writers' Room - 5 workshops with flexible attendance, gain new skills and ideas  by Chalk the Sun - art in London

Writers' Room - 5 workshops with flexible attendance, gain new skills and ideas

Writing workshop for beginners in London - share your ideas and work and get feedback on it from other practitioners and from the teacher.

Reading And Writing Class

Fifty one session course

Beginner

Tooting SW17

Writers' Room - 5 workshops with flexible attendance, gain new skills and ideas
by Chalk the Sun
Fifty one session course
from £30 per person

Classes

Fifty one session course

Daytime

This mixed-level Writers' Room in Tooting is perfect for people who want to experiment with different forms and ideas and receive professional feedback in between writing at home. We meet once a month and if you book 5 sessions you can use them flexibly over 8 months to fit in with holidays, weddings and weekends away.

In this class - on 4th November novelist Sheena Joughin will be helping you to creating atmosphere and setting. There will be a Christmas theme on 2 December (venue TBC) and brainstorming for new ideas and developments in January to kickstart your creativity in the new year.

Join Chalk the Sun on the first Saturday of every month for this drop in Writers' Room and get some professional insight into what you have been writing.

Topics vary from month to month and cover all aspects of creative writing from basic scene setting and character creating to more advanced topics such as handling voice and viewpoint or interweaving plot and theme.

Students can ask to cover specific areas like poetry or writing a radio play. Guest tutors such as crime novelist Claire McGowan or children's editor Simona Sideri sometimes teach these sessions.

Now you can

  • Set the scene for your story;
  • Develop credible characters;
  • Get professional feedback on your work.
Read more +

Select a class time

Sat 3 Aug 2019, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Tooting, SW17 0RT
10 slots left
£false30

Sat 10 Aug, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 17 Aug, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 24 Aug, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 31 Aug, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 7 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 14 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 21 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 28 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 5 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 12 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 19 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 26 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 2 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 9 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 16 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 23 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 30 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 7 Dec, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 14 Dec, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 21 Dec, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 28 Dec, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 4 Jan, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 11 Jan, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 18 Jan, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 25 Jan, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 1 Feb, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 8 Feb, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 15 Feb, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 22 Feb, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 29 Feb, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 7 Mar, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 14 Mar, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 21 Mar, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 28 Mar, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 4 Apr, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 11 Apr, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 18 Apr, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 25 Apr, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 2 May, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 9 May, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 16 May, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 23 May, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 30 May, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 6 Jun, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 13 Jun, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 20 Jun, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 27 Jun, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 4 Jul, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 11 Jul, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 18 Jul, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 7 Sep 2019, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Tooting, SW17 0RT
10 slots left
£false125

Sat 14 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 21 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 28 Sep, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 5 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 12 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 19 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 26 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 2 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 9 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 16 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 23 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 5 Oct 2019, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Tooting, SW17 0RT
10 slots left
£false125

Sat 12 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 19 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 26 Oct, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 2 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 9 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 16 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 23 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 30 Nov, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 7 Dec, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 14 Dec, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

Sat 21 Dec, 1:00pm - 4:00pm

None of the dates work for you? Let the host know and you will be notified when new dates are added.

You will only receive an email from us if new dates are added for this class, you will not receive any marketing emails, and that's a promise!

Give this class to a friend or loved one

London's favourite classes, courses, and workshops are at your fingertips.

Did you know?

Alfred Hitchcock was so worried about preserving the surprises in Psycho that he bought all remaining copies of Robert Bloch's original novel ahead of the film premier.
Obby guarantees good classes

Obby Guarantee

We ensure quality. If your class doesn't reach your expectations, we'll give your money back.

Obby guarantees good classes

Give this class to a friend or loved one

London's favourite classes, courses, and workshops are at your fingertips.

Class location

Tooting
148-156 Tooting High St
SW17 0RT
London

Gallery (7)

Writers' Room - 5 workshops with flexible attendance, gain new skills and ideas  by Chalk the Sun - art in London

About your host, Chalk the Sun

Creative writing courses, sharing brilliant ideas with other imaginative people.

Ardella Jones heads up a team of writers, editors and producers who teach creative writing with a difference. Tired of trying to teach creative writing courses in dreary Adult Education Institutions, she set up her own school with fellow writer Jo Hepplewhite where they could teach in a relaxed environment without the bureaucracy and next to a nice bar with comfy sofas.

Chalk the Sun don’t just ‘thank the group for sharing’, they provide constructive criticism and inspiring tuition whether you want to experiment with fiction or drama for the first time, or you want to publish a novel with a view to publication.

Read more +

Notes

Just a notebook and pen or tablet, and a willingness to share creative work.

Age Requirement

18

Flexible cancellation policy

Any class can be cancelled and fully refunded within 24 hours of purchase. See cancellation policy.

Writers' Room - 5 workshops with flexible attendance, gain new skills and ideas
by Chalk the Sun
Fifty one session course
from £30 per person
Fifty one session course
from £30 per person