£1,400
    View Photos

    Chalet Host Cookery Course

    Wandsworth·Obby course ratingObby course ratingObby course ratingObby course ratingObby course rating·Contact host
    The Avenue Cookery School - Obby

    The Avenue Cookery School


    Obby class duration
    Obby class venue
    Obby class level
    Obby class price

    Twelve session

    course

    Host's

    venue

    Beginners

    welcome

    Lowest price

    guarantee


    £1,400Per person

    Choose a session:

    Book now
    Send me more dates

    You're not the only one eyeing this one up

    4 other Obby lovers are looking at this class

    Book now

    About this course

    This course runs over multiple days. Click here to see additional dates.

    Tue 8 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Wed 9 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Thu 10 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Fri 11 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Sat 12 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Sun 13 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Mon 14 Aug, 9:30am - 4:00pm
    Tue 15 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Wed 16 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Thu 17 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Fri 18 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm

    This fun two-week Chalet Host cooking course covers everything you need to know to work in the mountains, specialising on cooking techniques and tip top chalet hosting skills. This class is for anyone that wants to work in the mountains or even further afield. It is perfect for learning to host at any home and is perfect for gap students, university students and even those people taking some time off a little later in life. No previous cooking skills are needed…but you take them all away when you leave.


    Did you know

    If you are aiming for a classic chalet host job you need to know what fondue is all about. Switzerland first came up with the idea to use up hardened cheese ad left over bread. Named as such from the French verb fondre, meaning "to melt," and has been around since the 19th century.


    In this class

    Although there is plenty of fun and games, this course will prepare you in the most professional, effective and rounded way. Confidence will be built, goals smashed through and you will leave with a clear route to the best chalet hosting season you could imagine.

    Week one covers the basics, week two turns you into a pro – over the whole time, you will learn:

    • knife skills
    • cooking and recipe building skills
    • presentation skills
    • stock rotation
    • fridge management
    • kitchen hygiene
    • menu planning
    • time planning
    • budgeting
    • first Aid
    • christmas cooking with ease

    You don’t just get the skills to host chalets but you also get the links to get the job too! The Avenue has excellent links to companies within the industry in Europe. Week 2 will also include helpful tips on CV preparation, interview preparation as well as carefully prepared menu plans to use during your time out in the mountains.

    By the way:

    • Are you a vegetarian? If so, no problem – just let us know beforehand
    • Accommodation can be arranged for those who need it
    • This course is Duke of Edinburgh Gold eligble
    • You will also get your own copy of The Avenue’s cookbook, and an apron to take home with you

    Now you can

    • get that job you’ve always wanted at that ski resort
    • impress your mum with Spiced Duck Breast with a Bok Choy and Shiitake Stir Fry
    • relive your childhood making homemade lemonade

    Keep

    As well as bagging some kick ass kitchen skills, this course is Duke of Edinburgh Gold eligble. You will also get your own copy of The Avenue’s cookbook, and an apron to take home with you.


    Meet

    Meet with other like-minded foodies looking to take their first step towards professional cooking. You’ll be best of friends by the end and could end up working together


    Save your spot

    Spaces are limited for this popular course so book now to avoid disappointment.


    Get ready for

    • 1 week+

    Dates & times

    Mon 7 Aug, 9:30am - 4:00pm

    + 11 additional classes

    Tue 8 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Wed 9 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Thu 10 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Fri 11 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Sat 12 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Sun 13 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Mon 14 Aug, 9:30am - 4:00pm
    Tue 15 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Wed 16 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Thu 17 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Fri 18 Aug, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Book your place

    Mon 4 Sep, 9:30am - 4:00pm

    + 11 additional classes

    Tue 5 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Wed 6 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Thu 7 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Fri 8 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Sat 9 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Sun 10 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Mon 11 Sep, 9:30am - 4:00pm
    Tue 12 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Wed 13 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Thu 14 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Fri 15 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Book your place

    Mon 18 Sep, 9:30am - 4:00pm

    + 11 additional classes

    Tue 19 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Wed 20 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Thu 21 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Fri 22 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Sat 23 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Sun 24 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Mon 25 Sep, 9:30am - 4:00pm
    Tue 26 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Wed 27 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Thu 28 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Fri 29 Sep, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Book your place

    Mon 2 Oct, 9:30am - 4:00pm

    + 11 additional classes

    Tue 3 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Wed 4 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Thu 5 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Fri 6 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Sat 7 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Sun 8 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Mon 9 Oct, 9:30am - 4:00pm
    Tue 10 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Wed 11 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Thu 12 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Fri 13 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Book your place

    Mon 16 Oct, 9:30am - 4:00pm

    + 11 additional classes

    Tue 17 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Wed 18 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Thu 19 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Fri 20 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Sat 21 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Sun 22 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Mon 23 Oct, 9:30am - 4:00pm
    Tue 24 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Wed 25 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Thu 26 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Fri 27 Oct, 9:30am - 4:30pm
    Book your place

    + More


    Hosted by The Avenue Cookery School

    Member since May 2016

    Trusted partner
    The Avenue Cookery School - Obby

    The Avenue Cookery School

    Response rate: 100%

    Response time: within 4 hours

    The Avenue Cookery School is a family-run leaning business based in Wandsworth in South West London. The owner and head chef Diana began her career as a chalet chef before discovering her entrepreneurial side and founding a number of specialist food ventures. Infamously, Diana taught at The Grange Cookery School in Somerset for 7 years before starting The Avenue, where she has been ever since.

    Diana is supported by her son Richard and daughter Sophie.

    The food at The Avenue can be considered classic chic but full of fun twists and turns (ranging from macaroon masterclasses to gluten free baking to simple supper classes). All the classes are taught in the school's beautiful kitchen facilities in a relaxed environment.


    About

    Obby is a trusted community marketplace where you can discover and book local classes and workshops in London.

    We work with London’s best artists, makers, chefs, mixologists and teachers. And we meet every single one of them personally, so you can be confident in your learning experience.

    Lowest price guarantee

    We guarantee you won't find this course cheaper anywhere else. If you do, please let us know and you'll get your money back.

    Secure payment

    Booking with Obby is in real-time. We will confirm your place and hold your money until the course has been provided so you don't have to worry.

    Best terms in the biz

    We offer the most flexible cancellation terms around. If something comes up and you need to cancel or reschedule, we will do anything we can to find a solution. See our full terms here.